Vijay Chandrasekhar's webpage

alt text 

Vijay Chandrasekhar


Email: vijay.cmu AT gmail DOT com

Short Bio

Vijay Chandrasekhar completed his B.S and M.S. from Carnegie Mellon University (2002-2005), and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University (2006-2013). His research contributions span deep learning and machine learning algorithms, computer vision, large-scale image and audio search, augmented reality and deep learning hardware. He has published more than 100 papers/MPEG contributions in a wide range of top-tier journals/conferences like IJCV, ICCV, CVPR, IEEE SPM, ACM MM, IEEE TIP, DCC, ISMIR, MPEG-CDVS, ICLR, etc, and has filed 7 US patents (4 granted, 3 pending). His Ph.D. work on feature compression led to the widely adopted MPEG-CDVS (Compact Descriptors for Visual Search) standard, which he actively contributed from 2010-2013. He was awarded the A*STAR National Science Scholarship (NSS) in 2002. He is an IEEE Senior Member, and was nominated for the Young Scientist Award at the national level from the Singapore National Academy of Sciences in 2017.

Research Interests

  • Computer Vision

  • Multimedia Search

  • Mobile Augmented Reality

  • Egocentric Vision

  • Machine Learning (Deep Learning)

  • Start-ups and Technology Entrepreneurship

  • Data Compression

Google Scholar

You can find a complete list of citations on Google Scholar.
H-index: 27
I10-index: 52
Number of citations: >3700+

Google Scholar Link: Vijay Chandrasekhar


  • Carnegie Institute of Technology Dean's List 2002-2005

  • Singapore Physics Olympiad, Merit Award, Top 25 students in Singapore; Jan 2001.

  • A*STAR (Agency for Science, Technology and Research) NSS (National Science Scholarship), 2002, 2006

  • A-STAR Chairman's Honors Roll for meritorious academic performance, 2005

  • SIA (Singapore Airlines) Youth Scholarship-scholarship for two years of studies at Hwa Chong Junior College, Singapore, 2000

  • National Talent Scholarship, Awarded at the national level in India, 1999

Last Updated: July 2018